it’s amazing how…

watching something such as the sun rising can remind you of God.  In the study of our house, the sole window peers out to the east.  During the early morning hours we have the opportunity to watch the sun rise over the Teays Valley landscape (even though we have to look through a myriad of trees). 

This morning I found myself reading in Isaiah 6.1 through 8.8 and 1 Corinthians 11.17 to 12.30.  Not only did I read these portions of Scripture, but I had the opportunity to read from Wayne Grudem’s Bible Doctrine: Essential Teachings of the Christian Faith on The Character of God: “Incommunicable” Attributes.  Why I shared what I read this morning will make sense in a moment. 

Anyways, I was praying I could not help but to be blinded by the brightness of the sun emanating through my window.  As I sat in my sit rubbing my eyes, the LORD recalled to mind a portion of my reading from Isaiah 6.1-7. 

In this passage from Isaiah…

is recorded his vision of God during King Uzziah’s death (Isaiah 6.1).  Let us hear from Isaiah himself about his vision.  It is written,

“I saw the Lord sitting on the throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple.  Seraphim stood above Him, each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew.  And one called out to another and said, ‘Holy, Holy, Holy, is the LORD of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory’…Then I said, ‘Woe is me, for I am ruined!  Because I am a man of unclean lips, And I live among a people of unclean lips; For my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts'” (Isaiah 6.1-5).

When Isaiah looked upon the holiness of God he became undone.  He became aware of his sinfulness, how much he and those he lived among had fallen short of the holy perfection of God.  For his eyes had seen the King, “the LORD of hosts.” 

As I was looking out my window, peering into the brightness of the sun, I was reminded how Isaiah peered into the brightness of God’s glory and holiness and became undone.  I could only imagine what it must have been like for him to have such a clear glimpse of God in this way.  I imagine it would be like traveling closer to the sun and becoming undone as we inched closer to its light and heat.  If anyone of us were to get close enough to the sun I can guarantee would be crying out as well! 

It didn’t stop there for me this morning as I watched the rising of the sun. 

Not only was I reminded of God’s holiness and glory from Isaiah, but I was also reminded of His mercy and grace.  With the remainder of the passage that I read this morning from Isaiah we read,

“Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs.  He touched my mouth with it and said, ‘Behold, this has touched your lips; and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is forgiven'” (Isaiah 6.6-7). 

After Isaiah looked upon God and became undone, God gracious expressed mercy towards him by taking away and forgiving him of his sin.

How did the rising of the sun remind me of God’s mercy?  Great question and I’m glad that you asked. 

First, in Psalms 118.24 we discover that today is the day that the LORD has made; therefore, we shall rejoice and be glad in it!  Not only is this day created and ordered by God, but it also reminds us that His mercies are new today and as the light from the sun covers the earth, so do His mercies cover all of His works (Psalms 145.9). 

This morning, as you gaze into the sun, I ask that you remind yourself of the greatness, holiness, gloriness, and splendor of the one true and living God.  I pray that by reminding yourself of God in this way, that it will lead you to become undone as Isaiah as you realize how you have fallen short of His glorious perfection.  Finally, may the sun remind you of God’s mercy, that they are new this day, and that they have been ultimately revealed in His Son Jesus Christ, who was sent to take away the sins of the world!  Look to Jesus this morning and cry out to for your sin to be taken away and forgiven and it will! 

 

Leave a Reply

